We’re Championing Everyone's Right to Feel East African. Come Join Us!

Court of Justice

The East African Court of Justice

What does this court do ?

This is the judicial arm of the community. It helps the integration process in adjudication of cases where there are disagreements between citizens and the state or the states that comprise the EAC.

EAC Member States

Who is in this court?

The East African Court consists of the court of the first instance and the Appellant Division. Recently, its mandate has been expanded by the summit to allow it have jurisdiction of presiding or adjudicating over cases related to trade.

In particular, the Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the community and ensures adherence to the law in the interpretation and application of compliance with the EAC treaty. It was established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community.

Currently, Arusha – Tanzania is the temporary seat of the Court.