We’re Championing Everyone's Right to Feel East African. Come Join Us!


The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation that unites countries found in the Eastern part of Africa. It is one of the oldest regional blocs on the African Continent.

The first EAC was formed in 1967 comprising of three partner states – Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania. Regrettably, this community broke down in 1977. In 1999, the EAC was revived and has since expanded to include three more partner states – Rwanda, Burundi and the Republic of South Sudan bringing the total number of EAC partner states to six.

The EAC is home to 158 million citizens, of which 22% is urban population. With a land area of 2.42 million square kilometres and a combined Gross Domestic Product of US$ 169.5 billion (EAC Statistics for 2015), its realisation bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects for the renewed and reinvigorated EAC.